How To Get Your Book Reviewed – Part 1, Genres and Policies

Genres & Policies

Hello everyone! So today (and actually the next couple Mondays) I’m doing something a little different than my usual discussion posts; I am doing a four (maybe five) part collection for authors on how to get your book reviewed by actual people (hence the title). I decided to do this as I am, as you may have noticed, a book blogger and part of my job is reading books sent to me by authors who’ve personally contacted me. Due to the volume of emails I’ve gotten about reviews and other reasons, I’ve turned down a lot of requests. Now, I’m hoping that this post series will help all the authors out there asking for blogger reviews understand what those reasons might be and how to get a high amount of blogger reviews. Today marks part one of the series with “genres and policies” aka two huge reasons why I might not review a book. I hope you enjoy and learn something! Here we go:

So being a book blogger, I have quite a bit of experience in getting asked to review books and though I do have a Policy page, there are still books that don’t follow them and the rule most broken is the type of genres I read. I usually read fantasy books, crime and mystery books and the occasional realistic fiction but there have been some times that people have totally ignored this part and asked me to review their memoir book or an erotica or something else that I don’t read. The mistake could have been that they actually did ignore what I wrote on my Policies page, or that they just don’t know what genre their book fits under.  I’m here today to help you avoid the latter mistake by informing you what genres there are and giving you a couple of examples. Now, a little disclaimer, this is just how I divide books into genres; there are TONS of other sub genres and more general genres, but the following list covers quite a bit so don’t worry.

My list of genres (with an example) is:

  • Fantasy /Sci-Fi – Harry Potter series by JK Rowling
  • Realistic Fiction – The Alice series by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
  • Educational Nonfiction – A How To Book
  • Personal Nonfiction – A Memoir
  • Crime and Mystery – The Women’s Murder Club series by James Patterson
  • Horror/Thriller – The Cormoran Strike novels by Robert Gailbraith

Now, yes, these are more or less my list of the genres, but this is usually how everyone else does it. So the lesson here is to pay attention to the policy of the blogger to make sure your book is something they’d read and make sure you know what genre your book falls under. Doing these two things will give you a higher chance that the blogger you reach out to will accept your book, read it and review it and that’s pretty much it as to part one.

If you have any more questions as to what genre your book specifically goes under or anything else related to the genres or to the policies of bloggers, comment on here or contact me; I’d love to hear from you! Also, if you’re a fellow blogger/reviewer and have any stories to share or any helpful tips for authors, feel free to comment them below or email them to me at avidreaderofficial@gmail.com! I might compile a list of them for the last post in the series! Thanks, hope you have a great day/night and tata for now!!

One thought on “How To Get Your Book Reviewed – Part 1, Genres and Policies

  1. Pingback: How To Get Your Book Reviewed – Part 2, Contacting The Blogger | Avid Reader

Tell us what you think!

