And I Darken by Kiersten White – DNF Review

Hello everyone! So today I’m doing something different in two ways: I’m posting a DNF (did not finish) review AND copying it over from where it was first published on my Goodreads. First off, background info: so here’s the thing, I got an ARC of And I Darken back in May from Kiersten herself to make an art piece out of and to hopefully review. I loved her book The Chaos of Stars and the opportunity of making art sounded fun so I went for it and started reading it…..and then I DNFed it. I’ve had a lot of thoughts on why I DNFed it but because it’s Kiersten and because a lot of people liked this, I’ve been putting off writing my reasons down. But with the second book being announced and all and the cover for it being released, I feel it’s time I told you why I DNFed it and tbh they’re pretty simple/reasonable reasons. Here we go…. (SPOILERS AHEAD)

1) It was really boring – so I DNFed about 50% or so into the book, maybe 60%?, but I gotta tell you, after the first two chapters, I was way close to DNFing. Because it was early in the book, I gave it a chance but it was really boring and just didn’t capture my attention.

2) It’s unrepresentative of Islam – this one bothered me the most of my three main reasons as Kiersten was doing so well in terms of rep for a long, long while. But then a character who becomes a Muslim realizes he/she is part of the LGBTQ+ community which doesn’t seem like a big deal to most people, especially in modern society. However, the thing is, that’s not something that’s okay in Islam. That doesn’t mean Muslims/we don’t respect those in the community and who they love, it just wasn’t an accurate portrayal of what usually happens. So it bothered me that, after being so well representative, AID put that in. It felt like adding diversity just to add diversity rather than to add value to the audience and the book.

3) There was a horrible love triangle – okay let’s discuss this one a little because love triangles, if done right, can be good. But this one was done way wrong, it was between a sister, a brother and their friend, with both siblings liking the friend….#awkward. It felt too odd for me and, with the two reasons below already in my mind, I was just done reading. If reason 2 wasn’t a thing, I might have kept going but number 3 was just the straw that broke the camel’s back. So ya, that’s why I DNFed And I Darken and why I can’t support it or understand why people like it.

Thank you for reading this and feel free to leave a thoughtful and respectful comment on your experience reading or not reading And I Darken! Thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!!

**originally published on my Goodreads account**

8 thoughts on “And I Darken by Kiersten White – DNF Review

  1. Pingback: Top Ten+ Problematic Books | Avid Reader

  2. Pingback: Heartless by Marissa Meyer – Review | Avid Reader

  3. I hated this book, which is a huge shame, because it was one of my most anticipated reads before I started it.

    My main reason for hating it was the fact that is was boring as you mentioned and that the ‘strong protagonist’ didn’t seem too strong or fierce to me. She was ready to live with all kind of things that I wouldn’t expect her to be ok with, but Lada was and I hated her so much for it. Why is it that everyone praised a fierce, independent protagonist and then makes her into a puppy that bows down to love. Character can’t change that much, especially when meeting such issues as Lada was.

    God! Even after all this time, this book still makes me angry. The only good thing about it seemed the fact that the promise for the next book was quite nice (promising the unforgiving Lada that loves her homeland more than anything), but you wouldn’t know that bit as you didn’t finish it. I don’t know, if I will ever pick up the second book, the first one was torture.

    Here’s my review, if you are interested, I probably have forgotten the most part of it already: https://bookowly.wordpress.com/2016/08/04/kiersten-white-and-i-darken/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I usually love love triangles (I think I might be the minority on that one hahha), but I really don’t like the sound of that one. I definitely don’t think I would like it being a love triangle involving siblings! I may have to push this one back on my TBR a bit.. Wonderful review!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. YES. I completely agree. I also stopped for those exact reasons – primarily the pacing – so I’m glad I’m not the only one who felt that way. Although I’m sorry you were so disappointed. It’s a shame, because the book had so much potential. 😦 Nonetheless, thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ugh, the whole love triangle thing just made me not want to read the book. I absolutely hate love triangles…I mean, every now and again one can be done well, but it’s like in every single fantasy book anymore, and all it does is take away from the actual story.

    I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t like this one, but the reasons you provided were good reasons to DNF it!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think!

