A Letter From An Illiterate YA Reader

Dear Joe Nutt

Dear Joe Nutt,

My name is Angel and I’ve been reading YA since I was in third grade. My first YA book, as I remember, was the Harry Potter series and ever since then I haven’t stopped reading YA or writing YA. Thanks to that, I’ve gotten a ton of opportunities – both business and personal – and have excelled at reading and writing. For some reason though, you think that YA is making me illiterate. That I don’t know anything about living in the real world. That YA is just about “gossip fodder”. Let me tell you why it’s not:

Comment: It’s making me illiterate.

Answer: Well, I don’t know what dictionary you’re basing your definition off of but “illiterate” means “unable to read or write”. Simply by the fact that I can read and write, your comment is incorrect.

Comment: I don’t know anything about living in the real world; YA is just about “gossip fodder”

Answer: Just from reading the Harry Potter series – which is a kid-to-young adult series – I learned about the power of love and friendship but I also learned about depression and hard work. In reading a recent release called A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, I was able to connect with Feyre’s emotional and mental abuse as I’ve faced the same. In so many YA books, I’ve found myself learning about empathy through seeing how some people really live. I’ve seen the effects of happiness, marriage, sex, diversity, divorce, suicide, depression, anxiety, sickness and rape within YA and seen the real world staring back at me with those same elements of life. I do know about living in the real world because I’ve read about it and slowly but surely, I’m making my way to show more ways of living with my writing.

So, dear Joe Nutt,

I’d say the Young Adult genre is pretty spectacular and I hope more people read books in the genre, regardless of their age or gender.

Sincerely,

A Not-So-Illiterate Reader

7 thoughts on “A Letter From An Illiterate YA Reader

  1. Pingback: YOU ARE ALL THE MOST SUPPORTIVE BEANS OF EVER // AUGUST WRAP UP 2016 – Mint Novels

  2. THAT ARTICLE MADE ME SO ANGRY. *rages* Ugh, it was ridiculous. I’m so tired of people thinking Twilight is the only YA book and not bothering to discover that, in fact, there are many complex and well-written and enjoyable YA books out there. And, like…yes, reading more books is absolutely going to make me illiterate. That’s how this works. Reading more = reading less, duh. -_-
    (Anyways: for some reason I’m not following you, whaat!? I have now corrected that!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OH my gosh. SOMEONE COMMENTED THIS??? ON YOUR BLOG? *is held back flailing trying to punch culprit* I SHALL HUNT THEM DOWN. (Okay not literally, I’m not that creepy but you get the point) GREAT POST. I LOVE young adult, and I mostly read young adult, but I also read classics like Pride and Prejudice, and picture books, and children’s books, and New Adult, and so many other things. I am most definitely not illiterate, nor are you, nor is anyone else in the YA book community.
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Writing Hufflepuff

  5. Just 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻🙌🏻 I’m so sick of people looking down on YA like just stop mate

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think!

