The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Boldly Bookish Blog Tour

Boldly Bookish 2 Banner
Hello everyone! So today I get to be part of the Boldly Bookish blog tour for The Long Game* by Jennifer Lynn Barnes and, for it, I am doing a review! I’ll try to be as non-spoilery as possible but I make no total promises. Before I get into the review, though, let me share with you some book details:

The Long GameThe Long Game Cover* by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
Release Date: June 7, 2016

Tess Kendrick, teen fixer extraordinaire, returns in a pulse-pounding thriller about a deadly conspiracy at the heart of Washington.

For Tess Kendrick, a junior at the elite Hardwicke School in Washington D.C., fixing runs in the family. But Tess has another legacy, too, one that involves power and the making of political dynasties. When Tess is asked to run a classmate’s campaign for student council, she agrees. But when the candidates are children of politicians, even a high school election can involve life-shattering secrets.

Meanwhile, Tess’s guardian has also taken on an impossible case, as a terrorist attack calls into doubt who can–and cannot–be trusted on Capitol Hill. Tess knows better than most that power is currency in D.C., but she’s about to discover first-hand that power always comes with a price.

Perfect for fans of Harlan Coben and Ally Carter, the second book in this thrilling series will leave readers breathless.

LINKS: Amazon* | B&N | Indiebound | The Book Depository

Sounds awesome right? Not sure? Well read my review and see if it helps:

GOODNESS GRACIOUS THIS BOOK. THIS BOOOOOOOOOOK. OHMYGOODNESS. Remember when I read ACOMAF by Sarah J Maas then flailed HARD? SAME THING HAPPENING HERE! Goodness gracious!!! The plot was a stellar A+++ and the characters? EVEN BETTER! Now because I haven’t written a review for The Fixer* yet (aka the first book), I’ll just say here and now that it was amazing too but The Long Game was better! Like TF was AMAZING and TLG was AMAZING-ER! Let me break it down for you:

  • it’s set in Washington DC aka like 30 mins away from my place and it’s the political capital of the entire world. Eventually someone was gonna write a book featuring it and it was gonna be amazing and goodness gracious did The Long Game do it!
  • it’s also set in a high school and we all know I have a weakness for books set in high schools. IDK why but I just do.
  • it’s by Jennifer Lynn Barnes, aka QUEEN OF REALLY GOOD TEEN MYSTERY/POLITICAL BOOKS (not even kidding)(like go read all her other books)(the best ones are the Squad* duology and the Naturals* series)(ok Imma stop now)
  • THE PLOT IS A++++: THERE’S POLITICS, KILLERS, CONSPIRACIES and it’s just all so goooooood!!!!!! (I also have a realllly strong weakness for books like this, can you tell?)
  • THE CHARACTERS ARE SO REAL AND AMAZING AND COMPLEX and the chemistry between them all is interesting and shows the real life-ness of, essentially, having a squad. It’s wonderful.
  • THAT ENDING OMG
  • THERE NEEDS TO BE MORE
  • IF THERE’S NOT MORE I MIGHT JUST DIE
  • as I did with the Squad duology (SERIOUSLY WHY IS THERE NOT MORE IN THAT SERIES?!)

And uh, that’s really it. So no flail-y at all right? I was just so calm! HA! Ya right! In all seriousness you should get The Fixer* and The Long Game* because otherwise, you’re missing out on a realllllly good series. Alsoooooo….there’s a giveaway for you guys!! You can win (1) set of the BOLDLY BOOKISH 2 Tour books (US Only). Books include: Hold Me Like a Breath & Break Me Like A Promise by Tiffany Schmidt, The Fixer & The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes & The Leaving by Tara Altebrando! To enter the Rafflecopter, click here!

Good luck to all in the giveaway! In the meantime, check out the author below, follow her on social media and then check out the tour hosts!

Jennifer Lynn BarnesABOUT JENNIFER LYNN BARNES:

Jennifer Lynn Barnes (who mostly goes by Jen) was born in Tulsa, Oklahoma. She has been, in turn, a competitive cheerleader, a volleyball player, a dancer, a debutante, a primate cognition researcher, a teen model, a comic book geek, and a lemur aficionado. She’s been writing for as long as she can remember, finished her first full book (which she now refers to as a “practice book” and which none of you will ever see) when she was still in high school, and then wrote Golden the summer after her freshman year in college, when she was nineteen.

Jen graduated high school in 2002, and from Yale University with a degree in cognitive science (the study of the brain and thought) in May of 2006. She’ll be spending the 2006-2007 school year abroad, doing autism research at the University of Cambridge in the United Kingdom.

LINKS: Website | Twitter | Tumblr

And that’s all! Thank you to Hannah from Irish Banana and Jennifer for organizing this blog tour and letting me review the book! And thank you for reading the post! Before you leave though, follow the rest of the tour! Have a great day/night and tata for now!

*This is an affiliate link I have with Amazon 🙂

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “The Long Game by Jennifer Lynn Barnes – Boldly Bookish Blog Tour

Tell us what you think!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s