My (Possibly) Awesome Idea

Hello everyone! So as you can tell from the title, I have a possibly awesome idea! I thought of it yesterday while scrolling through Twitter funnily enough. I was just scrolling through, talking to a bunch of people, then I thought of all the highly anticipated releases of the year and then weirdly one word just flashed in my head right after: “calendar”. I don’t know why or how I got from HARs to calendar but it happened and maybe you can guess what my idea is but let me continue. So after that came up, the next thought was “Ooooh what if there was a calendar featuring all the highly anticipated releases of that year?” And that’s how everything started. Of course now my mind is going a mile a minute and I have a ton of ideas for it so let’s get into it all:

  1. Have only one calendar where each month a highly anticipated release (coming out that month) is selected and the cover and synopsis are pictured.
    1. maybe have a giveaway where 12 self publishing/ed authors are selected to have their book featured at the end with it’s release date and cover (I came up with this after thinking of Briana Mae Morgan’s book Blood and Water which is in the works and not really self pubbed but it reminded me of that for some reason)
  2. Have one calendar for each genre-ish: YA, MG, Self Pub, Horror/Mystery/Thriller, Contemporary/Romance, NonFiction (?) and Fantasy/SciFi

Those are my two ideas right now however Michelle from The Writing Hufflepuff also asked me a very good question of whether they would be digital or published (I had to talk to her about this!) so please fill out the poll below:

Also please comment with your thoughts, what idea you like better and other things like that. Also if you’re an author/publisher and are interested in this, comment below or email me at avidreaderofficial@gmail.com and we can talk! Thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!

15 thoughts on “My (Possibly) Awesome Idea

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Most Popular Posts of 2015 | Avid Reader

  2. Pingback: The Weekly Hufflepuff #9 | The Writing Hufflepuff

  3. I think this is a FANTASTIC idea! I tend to get a bit crazy with organization, so if it were me, I would prefer to see calendars for each genre. However, that is going to be a lot more work. Even if you do only one calendar though, it would still be nice to see more than just one HAR. Any ideas on how you would pick what you would feature? Maybe for one HAR you could have a poll and feature a ‘reader’s choice’ pick. Just an idea. Good luck with this project! I can’t wait to see it happen!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That’s a cool idea!
    You asked for thoughts, so here are two things that popped in my head as I was reading. =) How would you decide what book is the most anticipated? Having a calendar for each might be over complicating things. Whatever your answer good luck with it. I look forward to seeing it happen.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! And thanks for the thoughts! The decision on the HARs is why I was thinking of the second idea actually, just because it would be easier to decide but I’m not totally sure *how* I want to decide…at the same time you’re kind of right about the complicated but I feel like it’d be harder to pick how many genres get featured in the calendar…though if I cut the genres down to 6 I could do two each…hmmm…you’ve got me thinking now hahahaha! Thank you! If you have any more ideas or solutions/problems/questions, definitely tell me more bc you are bringing up quite a bit of things I am/should be thinking about…thank you again!

      Like

Tell us what you think!

