My First Writing Camp and Competitions?

Hello everyone! So today marks the first day of July’s Camp NoWriMo! If you have no idea what that is, let me tell you. Camp NoWriMo is an online writing camp where writers/authors can write online and get feedback from other members. This is my first time doing it and I’ve joined a cabin with Jenny (who was just part of Guest Blogging Week) and a bunch of other people. My word count goal that I want to achieve (something else you can set up in Camp NoWriMo) is 50k. Yes it’s a lot but I more or less promised myself that I’d finish the first draft of my novel this summer and that 50k will hopefully help me accomplish that.

I joined Camp NoWriMo not just because I wanted to write but because I knew that being part of a cabin and having at least one friend with me would help push me to my goal and make me accountable to finish my novel. I’m already 6,365 words in and I’m only on page 22, chapter 8 so I’m excited to see how long my novel will be at the end of WriMo and how much I may need to add.

It’s extremely exciting for me to do and so every week (probably on Sunday), I’ll give a little heads up as to how far I’m in and how much I’ve written. I’m not sure whether this will be via Twitter or if It’ll be via the blog but stay tuned for mow information as time progresses.

Competition? – 

So my third blogoversary is coming up this August and I’m thinking I want to do something special. A friend on Twitter (Katy) suggested I do a competition and am wondering what you guys think. The specific questions I have are:

  • What should the competition be? Like, what should you guys do to win a prize?
  • What prize should you win?
  • How long should the competition last?
  • Should I even do a competition??
  • and more importantly, WHAT OTHER IDEAS DO YOU HAVE?

I like the idea of a competition but I’m not sure I’m ready to do it so I’m wondering what else is there? I’m thinking a Twitter chat or something but I don’t want to commit to it and then not be able to do it. So I’m at a bit of a crossroads here. Maybe I’ll save it for the next blogoversary (or my fifth one) and come up with something big but I want your input so please please comment below with ideas and thoughts on this.

Anyway, thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!

4 thoughts on “My First Writing Camp and Competitions?

  1. Good luck participating in WriMo! You got far on your first day! I was thinking of participating this month’s camp, but I don’t really have a project right now and I would also be writing a screenplay.

    Excited to hear more about your progress and remember to enjoy the ride!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. All the best for WriMo! I took part the last two years, but couldn’t make it through, unfortunately–hope you do better than me! 😀
    And congrats on your third blogoversary! I’d suggest something to do, only that I don’t really do blogoversaries, so…

    Liked by 1 person

Tell us what you think!

