Weights

When I look at you I don’t feel butterflies like I used to,

With you, I’m over that.

I should be at the end by now but instead, my heart sinks to the ground

with the weight of this thing I feel for you.

It’s not love, it may be unrequited

and I don’t want it, but it stays by my side,

leaving me with light touches from this possibility.

These chains are not made from madness,

but they leave me dizzy when you laugh and smile.

When you’re not around, I feel nothing towards you.

When you are, I feel caged and free at the same time;

I feel weighted and weightless at the same time.

 

Note: if this poem was confusing to you, believe me, it was confusing for me too.

5 thoughts on “Weights

Tell us what you think!

