The Sadness In Reading

It is said that when you are reader,

You live a thousand lives, but

There are some lives you just don’t want to read about.

That’s why and when I drown myself in fantasy; so I can escape reality,

But there are sometimes where fantasy becomes so close to reality

And I can feel myself drowning in tears rather than words.

I used to be heartless when it came to death in books

Until I read about it over a period of time.

Soon I feel eyes rim red and tears crinkle in my throat like pop rocks on my mouth.

I don’t like it.

“Save me” I try to say, but no one understands because they do not lift characters from words, worlds from sentences. They do not drown in their tears.

I am left to face it alone.

Tell us what you think!

