Book Review: Vicious by V.E. Schwab – Guest Post

melissathereaderandthechefGBW

Hi everybody! I’m Melissa from The Reader and the Chef, and I’m very excited to share with you today my loving thoughts about Vicious by V.E. Schwab. This is a freakin’ amazing book and I really do hope I can force (scratch that) convince you to read it. Thanks so much for reading!

****

Vicious has got to be one of the coolest and uniquest (yes, I said that) books I have ever read. I am so in love with it because it’s different, and let me tell you, I LOVE different. We’re not talking about a book with superheroes or good guys or just innocent people. We are dealing here with what you would call the “bad guys” of a story.

Victor and Eli hope to turn into extraordinary people. They are smart, they are greedy, and because they have this intense need to prove that they are far superior than everybody else, they experiment by mixing up adrenaline plus a near death experience to gain the title of Extraordinary. However, like many bad experiments gone wrong, not only do Victor and Eli go from regular humans to extraordinary, but they become nemesis and pretty vicious as well.

One of the major reasons why I loved this book so much is that Vicious makes you work to justify your love for the characters. Not in the sense that they are badly written (they are incredible), but because most of the characters are just plain mean and full of animosity. For example, if I were to explain why Victor is my favorite character, I’d have to say that he’s the lesser of two evils even though he still is a cold-hearted, crazy villain intent on getting his revenge no matter what. Not a really great description to sell him out, but I still think highly of him.  At least he’s so much better than Eli, in my opinion.

But my favorite thing about this book are the superpowers! They are amazing. From auto-healing and dulling senses, to waking the dead and walking in shadows. Truly terrific powers, and I love that even as great as they are, the people who have abilities were affected in one way or another because the price of turning into extraordinary is ridiculously high. Near death experience? Um, no thanks.

And while I’m not usually thrilled to read books that simultaneously go back and forth in time (you know, the kind that explains the characters’ past and how they are faring in the present) I think it was done pretty neat here. It was exciting how the author slowly builds momentum and lets the reader slowly peel the layers and discover a few well-guarded secrets from the characters. It’s a bit mind-blowing how well everything was planned out. And the ending, oof! Epic.

Seriously folks, this book is a must if you want something fresh and twisted. It’s a gripping, heart-pumping story that will have you trying to determine which of the characters has any good bones left. Or at least, who will survive…

Five HUGE stars from me 😉

Tell us what you think!

