Blogging A Book – Guest Post

Kay guest blogging week

Hello, everybody!  I’d like to thank Fantasy Angel for graciously letting me talk books here on her lovely blog.  See, I love books.  Love. Them.  I love holding them, I love smelling them, I love reading them.  But most of all?  I love writing them.

I also love blogging.  I’ve been blogging in one place or another (if MySpace posts and Facebook Notes can be called such a thing) since sometime in 2007, but my journaling habit goes back to childhood.

When I started blogging, I had no idea what to write (kind of like in this post…), and I wondered whether anyone would read what I had to say.  But I was feeling fearless back in 2007, so I threw caution to the wind.  After a few introductory posts I’m quite certain no one read (and which have since been made private because they were awful), I published my very first short story.

I’ve always written, and blogging allowed me to find an audience for my short stories as well as my poetry.  An audience is something I’d never had before – I’d always been too embarrassed to share my poems with people I knew.  And thanks to annual poem-a-day challenges every April in honor of National Poetry Month, my poetry archives have swelled since I started blogging.

By early 2012, I’d accumulated quite a number of poems, and I decided to put them into book form.  I looked into having my poetry collection published traditionally, but I struggled to find anyone who represented poetry, so I decided to try my hand at doing it myself.  I scoured my archives, collected what I had, and set about learning how to format books.  The Smashwords Style Guide and Createspace’s pre-formatted Word templates made formatting much easier than I expected.

Tuesday Daydreams: A Journal in Verse came out in mid-March 2012, and its companion volume, A Song for All Seasons: A Journal in Verse hit shelves exactly three years later.  It’s got a boatload of new poems, and I’m very excited to finally have it out in the world.  I’ve learned so much about formatting and cover design in the last three years that I can’t help being super proud of my latest book.

That’s not to say that the process was completely effortless.  It wasn’t.  I lost track of the number of times I formatted and reformatted my interior files.  The cover image I was using on Amazon didn’t conform to the standards for Smashwords, so I had to tweak it a bit.  And of course, three days after I submitted my final interior file to Amazon for pre-order, I made one tiny change and discovered I could no longer make changes to the file till the book went live.

Talk about stressed.

But it was a learning experience, you know?  And in the end, it all worked out.  I couldn’t be happier with my pretty, pretty books.

Unless, of course, they hit the bestseller lists. 🙂

 

KAYAs a girl, Kay dreamed of being swept off her feet by her one true love. At the age of 24, it finally happened…and he’s never let her forget it. A mild-mannered secretary by day and a determined word-wrangler by night, she battles the twin evils of distraction and procrastination in order to write fantastical tales of wuv…twue wuv…with a few bad haiku thrown in for good measure.

She is currently hard at work on the first book in a fantasy trilogy. Kay resides in the midst of an Iowa corn field with her devoted husband and his mighty red pen; four crazy, cute kids; and an assortment of adorably small, furry animals.

Care to save her from the chaos? You can find Kay in the all the usual places:

At her blog, where she shares random pictures and silly poems; on Facebook, where she shares things about cats and books; on Twitter, where she shares whatever pops into her head; on Pinterest, where she shares delicious recipes and images from her fantasy world; on Instagram, where she shares pictures of pretty sunsets; and on Tumblr, where she shares all of the above.

ASFAS-EcoverTD-Ecover  If you’d like to pick up your own copy of Tuesday Daydreams or A Song for All Seasons, you can find them   at Amazon, Createspace, Smashwords, iBooks, Kobo, and Barnes & Noble.

16 thoughts on “Blogging A Book – Guest Post

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Most Popular Posts of 2015 | Avid Reader

Tell us what you think!

