My Thoughts on the “Shadowhunters” Developments

Hello everyone! So if you’ve been paying attention to the fandom part of my Friday Finds posts, then you’ll notice I’ve been paying close attention to any developments happening on The Mortal Instruments TV Show, officially called “Shadowhunters”. Lately though, the developments are saying it’s getting very very close to production and, with all the new information us mundanes have been getting, I thought it necessary to write a post about it.

Let me start by saying that, if you remember, when it was first announced ย that TMI was turning into a TV Series, I more or less freaked out. I ranted for a bit then that was it. After that, and ever since then, I sat silently in front of my computer and have gotten used to the idea. I’ve followed the updates from various websites like TMISource.com until two days ago when we got our most recent news that production was a go (starting May), it was going to be in Vancouver, the show would prob. be on ABC Family and then we got the descriptions for casting. Now, I had heard rumours that the characters may be aged up but I was really hoping they weren’t true (it’s never worked out well..I mean have you seeeen Percy Jackson? Good movies, bad portrayals.) When I saw the casting though, my fears* were confirmed, they were turning into people 18 – 21 years old and Simon is now “an accountant student by day”? and Clary is a “promising art student”? Whaaat? I mean, how did accounting even come up in the conversation of Simon’s character? And why did they age up the characters? Did they not realize that fans were even annoyed when the actor for Alec in the movies looked like he was older that Alec was supposed to be which is 18? That doesn’t mean that the actor was bad; he was pretty good but there was no point for the age up just like now. I mean I kinda understand with Alec, he may look older but he was prob. the best to play him, now they’re just making casting calls and already they’re changing the characters/actors? I mean, really? There was no point to do so!

Now, as stated above, the show will also be on ABC Family and I’m pretty happy about that news. Like it says in the article, ABC Family seems to have made books to shows very well; there’s Teen Wolf and Pretty Little Liars (and it’s flying around that The Lying Game will also be optioned to be on the network) and even though I don’t watch the shows (I do not have time at all unfort.), the amount of viewers the shows have is humongous so I definitely feel great about the network being ABC Family. To be honest, so far the only thing I’m mad at is the casting being aged up. Again, why? One more thing though before we go, I’d be a great Isabelle Lightwood *wink, wink, nudge, nudge*. Okay, that’s all :). Have a great day/night and tata for now!

*fears is a bit extreme but still, I wasn’t happy…

7 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the “Shadowhunters” Developments

  1. Pingback: Yet Another Shadowhunter Reaction Post | Avid Reader

  2. I’ve only read the first book in the series, so I’m not the hugest fan, but the news of a tv series also made me upset. The movies were fine, I actually liked the second half of City of Bones and I grew fond of the actors. Oh well, I’ll still watch it though and I’ll hurry up to catch so I can judge it correctly when the time comes ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • You need to read the entire series! They’re soo goood!!!! Yay, for the same reactions! I mean, I’m happy about a TV series now (at least we get to see the story) but I’m not fine with the aging up…I watched the COB movie with some friends (most of which hadn’t ever read the books) and they loved it and wanted more too. I was the same with the actors too but I can’t wait to see who the actors for the series will be. Yay as well that you’ll catch up! The Mortal Instruments really are a lovely series ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t wait to watch the show! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. Teen Wolf actually airs on MTV and The Lying Game got cancelled but I love Pretty Little Liars, although the show is nothing like the books. I actually don’t really mind the age up, I think they did it to attract a larger audience and that’s fine, besides it’s only by like 2-4 years. It didn’t work for Percy because they went from 12-16 and that’s a bigger difference in maturity then going from 16-18-21. I don’t know where the accountant thing came from but I guess I could see it as something early Simon could do

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought someone said TW was on ABCFam. hmm. I guess I’m wrong. (thanks for the heads up!) It’s a bummer about The Lying Game though, I was looking forward to that. I haven’t seen PLL so I’ll have to take your word that it’s diff. than the books ๐Ÿ™‚ . I can see what you mean about the age up, but I’m still very wary of it. Age ups, if done well, could do as you said and attract a larger audience, if done wrong though (cough Percy Jackson cough) then it could go downhill. I’m not sure about the accounting thing either, but I guess we’ll have to wait and see…anyways, thanks for the comment! Much appreciated! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Tell us what you think!

