My Favorite Book Tropes

bookblogwrimo banner Hey everyone! So today’s day 17 of Book Bumbling’s  #BookBlogWriMo and the prompt is to  talk  about our favorite book tropes. Now before we get into what a trope is, let me explain that  #BookBlogWriMo is “a lax version of  NaNoWriMo for  book  bloggers. [There are] prompts for  each day, discussing  different topics around books,  blogging, and  books + blogging. There’s no  word count requirement, no daily writing    requirement, very little  requirements in general.  Just post the posts on the day they should be    posted!…Answers to the prompts  can be as short  or long as you like….You can also  write  them  whenever you want to….As long as  they’re  posted on the right day, it’s all good.” To find out more about #BookBlogWriMo, or to take part in it with me, click here! Now, back to the definition of trope…

So, as I had no idea what trope meant, I looked up the definition and here is what Wikipedia gave me:

“A literary trope is the use of figurative language – via word, phrase, or even an image – for artistic effect such as using a figure of speech. The word trope has also come to be used for describing commonly recurring literary and rhetorical devices, motifs or clichés in creative works.” – Trope (literature) – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia 

….Now what Book Bumbling’s meant of trope was what our favorite cliché – type things we never get sick of and so that’s what I’m going (hopefully try) to write about. Here is a list:

  1. Spies. Any book that has to do with spies is something I just love so much and if they fall in love with someone you don’t expect (but you do in a cliché way) or if they are really young spies, then the book is even cooler/cuter.
  2. Wizards. Ever since Harry Potter came into my life, I have always had a thing that wizards in books are awesome.
  3. The hero/heroine is brought into the midst of a world they never knew. Now there are sometimes where it gets too sappy but there are also  a lot of authors who make sure that is very minimal or not there at all (Cassandra Clare, Rick Riordan and JK Rowling to name a few).
  4. Prep Schools. I just love any book that has a prep or boarding school in it. I have no idea why but I think it started (ok it definitely started) because of Lisi Harrison’s The Clique books. Oh those books were/are so awesome.

And I think that’s it. I may have accidentally answered what types of books I like in a way more than answered the question but I’m not sure so tell me if I did accidentally do that or if I’m right in my approach. Also tell me if you agree with or disagree with anything I said above! You know I would love to see your thoughts! Now for the challenge reminder: so this last Wednesday, I challenged you guys to write a six word story and I just wanted to remind you guys of it. So far there are only two stories. Now, you don’t have to publish it on your blog, you can just comment it on the post with your name/twitter. This challenge will end by next Tuesday and then I’ll pick the best one for the next #WritingWednesday. Now for the Guest Blogging Week Announcement, yes that will be happening. Yes, I’ll be posting the stuff for it, but it’s going to be for the week of Thanksgiving (next week) so stay tuned for then. Thanks, have a great day/night and tata for now!

 

Tell us what you think!

