Top Ten Movies That Were Better Than Their Books (well, kind of)

Bonjour mis amigos! So today’s post, the top ten movies that were better than their books,  is courtesy of the fab. Sally who thought of this wonderful idea a couple of weeks ago so thank you! Enjoy everyone!

1) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

2) Alice in Wonderland (Tim Burton version)

3) Catching Fire

4) The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe

5) The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian*

6) The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader*

7) All Harry Potter movies save Harry Potter #6**

8) Dr. Seuss’ The Cat In the Hat***

9) City of Bones

10) Hunger Games

Well, that’s it. Now there are probably some movies that you weren’t expecting me to put in and there are probably some movies that you don’t know why they are placed in the order they are in, but that will be explained all below! Have a fabulous day/night, don’t forget to comment your thoughts and suggestions, and tata for now!

 

*Okay, so I read the books when I was younger and they were insanely confusing for the lion, the witch, and the wardrobe. I was just so confused with the timeline of events but the movies cleared that up.

**So #6 was pretty awesome however there were still some moments missing from the movie that the book had and that I loved. The placement is a bit weird probably but honestly for most of them, the books matched the movies in how much I loved them so they are a bit closer to the bottom.

***You probably weren’t expecting to see this one, but it is there because it was better than the book. I absolutely loved the movie more than the ‘book’ as it was longer and could be for all ages, not just younger kids.

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Movies That Were Better Than Their Books (well, kind of)

  1. Pingback: Top Ten General Top Tens + Guest Blogging Week Announcement | Avid Reader

  2. Pingback: A Post to My Top Ten Commenters | Avid Reader

  3. I haven’t seen (or read) all of these… but… I just can’t agree with you on the Harry Potter ones. I feel like the books gave me so much more depth, character, and plot points to follow. Out of necessity (I understand) the movies hacked a lot of these to pieces. Especially the second movie.. I remember going to see that with my brother, who had not read the books, and he was rather confused at some points — because the movie couldn’t develop the character relationships and challenges as well as the books were able to.

    Like

  4. What exactly was this list based on? I don’t agree with any of these. I don’t think comparing movies and books is really fair at all.
    HP4 the movie was terrible. HP6 was amazing (and surprisingly funny). All Narnia movies are good, well rather great actually but I wouldn’t say they are better than the books. Perhaps instead of comparing apples and oranges, you should reread the Chronicles of Narnia as an adult to understand them. They really are quite brilliant.
    City of Bones was cringe-worthy. And while Hunger Games and Catching Fire are both very well done, I wouldn’t say they are better than the books.
    So can you explain the ranking and how these movies were chosen?

    Like

Tell us what you think!

