Same Old Brand New HP: The “new” Harry Potter stories – Guest Post

Affy guest blogging

Hello, I’m Affy. I’m an inconsistent blogger (working on it) but I’m bursting with ideas. I am crazy about Doctor Who, though the Stargate franchise has recently captured my interest to the point of appearing like it’s capable of mind control. I love reading and discussing and debating and watching tv shows. I also love chocolate, and potato chips.

I would like to write about and share my experience of reading the “new” Harry Potter stories written by JK Rowling. I am, obviously, a member of Pottermore; I got sorted to Ravenclaw, by the way. And I have gotten through quite a few of the books scenes. I can do spells decently. Although potions are my nightmare! Did there really have to be a timer for mixing potions?! It’s tough enough already.

Coming back to the “new” stories, these mainly came in the form of articles by Daily Prophet’s Gossip Columnist Rita Skeeter. She is her usual drama queen self, jumping to outrageous conclusions from little to no evidence, an outrageousness that would put some of our Muggle gossip columnists to shame! J

There’s Ginny Weasley too! But she is the professional Sports Columnist and sticks to her job description. Reading her coverage of the Quidditch games is fun nonetheless.

So, through Rita Skeeter’s column, we come to know more of Harry and Ginny and their sons, Albus and James (I don’t remember mention of a daughter so correct me if I am wrong); Ron and Hermione, and their two children, Rose and Hugo; Neville, as the Herbology teacher; Luna Lovegood, as her usual whacky self; and a few others that I won’t mention! You have to go read and find out.

All these members of Dumbledore’s Army are now celebrities in the magic world, and Rita Skeeter is the Muggle-world equivalent of a gossip columnist cum paparazzi. Her observations of the members of the DA as they watch the Quidditch World Cup in the VIP box are absolutely hilarious because of their absurdity and the aforementioned outrageousness. But through these absurd notes, JK gives us a much-needed and much-appreciated look in to the lives of all our favorite characters.

It brings a wonderful sense of nostalgia and happiness, like hearing from an old friend after many years and just knowing that they are ok; that life is happening for them and moving forward for them, just as it is for us; to know that they are growing up too, like we are.

I didn’t know that I needed to know this till I read the stories. I cannot thank JK Rowling enough to share this with all us fans.

 

 

17 thoughts on “Same Old Brand New HP: The “new” Harry Potter stories – Guest Post

  1. I like the helpful information you supply for your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your blog and take a look at again right here regularly.

    I am fairly sure I will be informed lots of new stuff proper right here!
    Good luck for the following!

    Like

  2. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else experiencing problems
    with your website. It seems like some of the text on your posts are running
    off the screen. Can somebody else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before.
    Kudos

    Like

    • Aww thank you! That’s very sweet….yes about the guest post….I’d prefer it if I get to know the people guest blogging for a bit but I would be happy to have you guest blog in the next Guest Blogging Week in about two months! If you contact me around the beginning of October or even the last week of September, we can begin to talk. Thanks again for your kind words and can’t wait to hear back from you!

      Like

  3. Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your
    site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from
    my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.

    If you have any suggestions, please share. Cheers!

    Like

    • Hmmm…well maybe the theme just isn’t mobile friendly in the first place….you probably want to get a similar theme that is mobile friendly and then adjust. You can also adjust the mobile settings: go to your WordPress dashboard (I take it you have a wordpress), then appearances and then mobile. That could help. I’m not totally sure but I wish you the best of luck and hope it helped!!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Guest blogging: Done! | Taking a Hike

  5. I’m on Pottermore, too, but with intermittent access to decent internet service, I haven’t been on in ages, so I haven’t gotten to read any of the Quidditch World Cup stuff. I may have to go check it out Friday! 🙂

    Like

Tell us what you think!

